87th Geneva International Motor Show87th Geneva International Motor Show
Media Partner

06.03.2017 - News Peugeot wins the title “Car of the Year 2017”

The winner of the “Car of the Year”-Award 2017 is the Peugeot 3008. The Jury is made up of 58 journalists from 22 European countries. The final vote took place this afternoon, live from the Geneva International Motor, in the presence of international journalists. Jean-Philippe Imparato, Peugeot CEO received the award.

The Peugeot 3008 made the difference during the last tests and thus won, in front of its six competitors, the prestigious and very coveted award. The finalists of this year were: Alfa Romeo Giulia, Citroën C3, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, Nissan Micra, Peugeot 3008, Toyota C-HR, Volvo S90/V90.

The President of the Jury, Hakan Matson, automobile expert from the Swedish economic magazine Dagens Industri, justified the vote as follows: „The jury recognizes that the market share of SUVs and Crossover cars has been steadily increasing. The Peugeot is a worthy winner.“

Jean-Philippe Imparato, CEO of Peugeot since September 1st, 2016 was visibly very touched:” We are so happy. It is a great moment and I am very proud to receive this prize for our Peugeot 3008.”

The criteria taken into consideration for the award are, in addition to the innovation and the security, the design and the value for money.

Results of the vote 2017:

  1. Peugeot 3008: 319 points
  2. Alfa Romeo Giulia: 296 points
  3. Mercedes-Benz E-Class: 197 points
  4. Volvo S90/V90: 172 points
  5. Citroën C3: 166 points
  6. Toyota C-HR: 165 points
  7. Nissan Micra: 135 points


About “Car of the Year”:

The “Car of the Year” trophy is considered as the most prestigious and conveted award in the automobile world. Currently, 58 journalists from 22 countries are members of the jury. The Car of the Year was created by STERN and it has been awarded since 1964. It was established by seven European magazines from seven countries: Germany (Stern), Italy (Auto), France (L'Automobile), Spain (Autopista), United Kingdom (Autocar), The Netherlands (Autovisie) and Sweden (Vi Bilägare).